Free Shipping on orders over $200 NZD Email : info#1day.gift

Where the Light Fell

$30.96

Last updated on September 17, 2022 3:31 pm
SKU: 35253651

$30.96

Sold by
Mighty Ape
@ Mighty Ape
Add to wishlistAdded to wishlistRemoved from wishlist 0
Add to compare

In this searing meditation on the bonds of family and the allure of extremist faith, one of today’s most celebrated Christian writers recounts his unexpected journey from a strict fundamentalist upbringing to a life of compassion and grace-a revelatory memoir in the tradition of Educated and Hillbilly Elegy.
Raised by an impoverished widow who earned room and board as a Bible teacher in 1950s Atlanta, Philip Yancey and his brother, Marshall, found ways to venture out beyond the confines of their eight-foot-wide trailer. But when Yancey was in college, he uncovered a shocking secret about his father’s death-a secret that began to illuminate the motivations that drove his mother to extreme, often hostile religious convictions and a belief that her sons had been ordained for a divine cause.
Searching for answers, Yancey dives into his family origins, taking us on an evocative journey from the backwoods of the Bible Belt to the bustling streets of Philadelphia; from trailer parks to church sanctuaries; from family oddballs to fire-and-brimstone preachers and childhood awakenings through nature, music, and literature. In time, the weight of religious and family pressure sent both sons on opposite paths-one toward healing from the impact of what he calls a “toxic faith,” the other into a self-destructive spiral.
Where the Light Fell
is a gripping family narrative set against a turbulent time in post-World War II America, shaped by the collision of Southern fundamentalism with the mounting pressures of the civil rights movement and Sixties-era forces of social change. In piecing together his fragmented personal history and his search for redemption, Yancey gives testament to the enduring power of our hunger for truth and the possibility of faith rooted in grace instead of fear.
“I truly believe this is the one book I was put on earth to write,” says Yancey. “So many of the strands from my childhood-racial hostility, political division, culture wars-have resurfaced in modern form. Looking back points me forward.”

Specification: Where the Light Fell

Release date NZ

October 5th, 2021

Author

Philip Yancey

Pages

320

Audience

General (US: Trade)

Country of Publication

United States

Imprint

Convergent

Dimensions

163x243x28

ISBN-13

9780593238509

Product ID

35253651

User Reviews

0.0 out of 5
0
0
0
0
0
Write a review

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Where the Light Fell”

Your email address will not be published.

Vendor Information

  • Store Name: Mighty Ape
  • Vendor: Mighty Ape
  • Address:
  • 4.45 rating from 16290 reviews
Added to wishlistRemoved from wishlist 0
Add to compare
Warhammer Vampire Counts Wight King
Added to wishlistRemoved from wishlist 0
Add to compare
$108.95
Added to wishlistRemoved from wishlist 0
Add to compare
Avengers By Jason Aaron Vol. 2
Added to wishlistRemoved from wishlist 0
Add to compare
$43.08
Added to wishlistRemoved from wishlist 0
Add to compare
Financial Market Bubbles and Crashes
Added to wishlistRemoved from wishlist 0
Add to compare
$123.91
Added to wishlistRemoved from wishlist 0
Add to compare
Tamiya German Tank Destroyer Marder III 1:35 Model Kit
Added to wishlistRemoved from wishlist 0
Add to compare
$42.04
Added to wishlistRemoved from wishlist 0
Add to compare
OtterBox: Symmetry Case – For iPhone XS Max (Aspen Gleam)
Added to wishlistRemoved from wishlist 0
Add to compare
$30.26
Added to wishlistRemoved from wishlist 0
Add to compare
SFSX, Volume 2: Terms of Service
Added to wishlistRemoved from wishlist 0
Add to compare
$20.54
1day Gift
Logo
Compare items
  • Total (0)
Compare
0
Shopping cart